Award Crest
York College

Entry requirements

Generally 4 or 5 GCSEs at grade C or above, including Maths at grade B (grade 5) and English (grade 4), or a Merit in any relevant Level 2 course (Extended Certificate or above), subject to references.

What will I study?

The National Diploma in Computer Science is designed to support students who would like a strong core study of computer science to enable progression to roles in the computing industry or progression to higher education with a focus on the computing sector. It is equivalent in size to two A Levels and can be supplemented with A Level Mathematics (subject to meeting entry requirements).

You will study ten specialists units, six of these are mandatory and four are chosen by us. The mandatory units are:

• Principles of Computer Science
• Planning and Management of Computing Projects
• Building Computer Systems
• IT Systems Security
• Systems Analysis and Design
• Software Development
• Human-computer Interaction
• Systems Analysis and Design
• Mobile Applications
• Web Application Development
• Programmable Devices and Controllers
• Object-oriented Programming

What could it lead to?

This Level 3 qualification provides entry into higher education with a view to progressing to roles in Computing or Computer Science. Subjects that some students have gone on to study are Games Development, Cyber Security and Forensics, Web Development, Multimedia, Graphics and Animation, Networking and Cloud Computing, Mobile Apps and Social Media Development and Software Development. These qualifications also offer a direct route into apprenticeships or employment working in user support, hardware or software technicians or data processing.

Course Enquiry

Please type your full name.
Invalid email address.
Please tell us about your enquiry