Award Crest
York College

News Banner 1

News Banner 2

News Banner 3

York College hosted a special A Level Awards Evening at the National Centre for Early Music in York, for students who excelled in their A Level studies this year.


Glyn Jones, Assistant Principal for A Levels welcomed students and their families and gave an introductory speech. There was an address by guest speaker Dr Francis Neary, a former A Level student at York College who is now the Editor for the Darwin Correspondence Project at Cambridge University. A Vote of Thanks was given by John Short, Chair of Governors.

Glyn Jones, Assistant Principal for A Levels at York College said: “It is one of the highlights of our year being able to celebrate the achievements of such talented and hard-working former students, and a delight to see so many of them back with us after their first term at university. They are an inspiration to our current students and it is really great to see former student Francis Nearly inspire them as to where they could be in ten years’ time.”

Student of the Year subject awards:

Critical Thinking: Christian Gill
Ancient History: Charlotte Warrington
History: Luke Lovett
Law: Anneli Suarez-Summersgill
Philosophy: Georgina Gray
Politics: Jack Davis
Psychology: Kirsten Merrett
Religious Studies: Flora Shaw
Sociology: Greg Newton
Business/Economics: Jonathan Hopes
English Literature: Jade Cuttle
English Language: Peter Hook
Further Mathematics: Thomas Whaley
Mathematics: Shaun Stephenson
International: Mladen Georgiev
Languages: Paulina Barszcz
Music: Thomas Soden
Music Technology: Katherine McCabe
Biology: Katherine Batters
Chemistry: Katy Sharp
Physics: Abigail Robinson
Earth Science: Elliott McDonald
Engineering: Holly Readman Riley
IT and Computing: William Strachan
Art and Design: India Copley
Film Studies: Daniel McGuiness
Media Studies: George Howard
Performing Arts: Marie-Laure Hay
Physical Education: Georgia Robert
Extended Project: Elliott Reid

Placement Student of the Year: Christina Leach
Head of Studies Student of the Year: Matthew So
Governor’s Prize: Joshua Meikle
Most Improved Student: Francesca Holding-Brown
Principal’s Prize: Daniel Kozelko
Student of the Year: Oscar Powell

Current Term's News