York College

Year 11 Taster Days 2017

These events are a great way to see what it's like to be a York College student and discover more about the subjects you're interested in.

Our Year 11 Taster Days will take place on:

  • Tuesday 10th January 2017
  • Thursday 12th January 2017
  • Friday 27th January 2017

You’ll find all the information about the day, including the list of subjects you can try and details of how to apply in the PDF document Year 11 Taster Days 2017

Students from the following York Schools should apply to attend on either Tuesday 10th or Thursday 12th January. Please indicate your 1st and 2nd choice of date to attend:
All Saint’s RC School 
Archbishop Holgate’s School 
Canon Lee School 
Fulford School 
Huntington School 
Joseph Rowntree School
Manor CE Academy 
Millthorpe School 
The Danesgate Community
York High School

Applications for the date not allocated to your school will only be considered if you cannot attend the specified date(s) and you have permission from your school.

Students from schools not listed above should ideally apply to attend on Friday 27th January as a first choice. Please also choose a 2nd choice date from either the 10th or 12th of January.

Please check with your school that the date you choose does not clash with exams or revision sessions before applying.


You can apply online at https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/York_College_Year_11_Taster_Days_2017

If you’d like further information you can email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or ring 01904 770239 leaving us your name and contact details.

For the dates of our Further Education Open Evenings please follow this link.

November

Wednesday 9th November - York College Open Evening (A Level, Vocational, Higher Education, Adult and Apprenticeship programmes), 6.00pm – 8.30pm

 

Wednesday 9th & Thursday 10th November – Sound Circus music department showcase, Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, 12 noon – 3.00pm

 

Thursday 24th November – York Apprenticeship Graduation & Awards Ceremony 2016, Royal York Hotel

 

Monday 28th November to Friday 16th December - Christmas lunches and dinners in Ashfields restaurant. Book early to avoid disappointment.

 

 

December

Saturday 3rd December - York College Open Morning (A Level, Vocational, Higher Education, Adult and Apprenticeship programmes), 10.00am – 12 noon

Wednesday 14th December – Christmas Concert by York College music department, Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, 7.00pm

 

January

Tuesday 31st January – Decades concert (1st year Ext. Diploma Music course), Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, 7.30pm

 

February

Wednesday 1st February - Decades concert (1st year Ext. Diploma Music course), Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, 7.30pm

 

March

Wednesdays 15th  & 22nd March - Music Showcase Gigs by Ext. Diploma Music bands, Fulford Arms, 7.30pm

Wednesday 29th March – Musical Soiree by Music students, Bedern Hall, 7.00pm

 

 

April

Tuesday, 25th April – A Level Music Recital, National Centre for Early Music, 7.00pm

 

May

Wednesday 10th & Thursday 11th May – Major Music Project, 2nd year Ext. Diploma Music students, The Post Office Club, 7.30pm

Wednesday 23rd May – Level 2 Diploma in Music final performance, venue tbc, 7.30pm

 

June

Tuesday, 13th June - York College Open Evening (A Level, Vocational, Higher Education, Adult and Apprenticeship programmes), 6.00pm – 8.00pm

Wednesday 14th June – The Summer Soulstice with York College Soul Band, Basement Bar City Screen, 7.30pm

Saturday 24th June – Summer Sounds in the Park featuring the York College Music Department, Rowntree Park (bring a picnic), 12 noon

 

Twitter