Award Crest
York College

What's On / Term Dates

York College Term Dates:

York College Calendar 2018-2019

For more information and tickets please ring York College Finance Office on 01904 770495. 

 

September 2018

Tuesday 11th September: AAT Open Event / Interviews, GF009, 5pm, York College

Thursday 13th September: York College HE Graduation, York Minster, York

Monday 17th September: Vocational and T Level Parent & Carers Welcome Evening for Art & Design, Construction, Engineering & Motor Vehicle, Digital Technologies and Sport & Public Services, 6.30pm - 7.30pm (approx finishing time). York College, Alan Ayckbourn Theatre

Wednesday 19th September: Vocational and T Level Parent & Carers Welcome Evening, Business, Hospitality, Travel & Tourism, Health & Social Care, Early Years & Education, Hair & Beauty, Science & Maths and Media, Music & Performing Arts, 6.30pm - 7.30pm (approx finishing time). York College, Alan Ayckbourn Theatre

Thursday 20th September: A Level Parent and Carers Welcome Evening, 6.00pm - 7.00pm and 7.30pm - 8.30pm, York College, Alan Ayckbourn Theatre

Tuesday 25th September: A Level Parent and Carers Welcome Evening, 6.00pm - 7.00pm and 7.30pm - 8.30pm, York College, Alan Ayckbourn Theatre


October 2018

Thursday 11th October: Business Breakfast Employer Information Session, Guest Speaker: Gareth Bullen from the London Centre of Excellence speaks about the business courses we offer. Ashfield's Restaurant, followed by a FREE 1 hour workshop on our business courses, York College, 7.45am - 9.30am

Wednesday 17th October: Ashfields Steak Night, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Thursday 18th October: York College Open Event,  5.30pm - 8.00pm, York College

Tuesday 23rd October: Ashfields Afternoon Tea, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Wednesday 24th October: Ashfields Autumn Six Course Tasting Menu, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Wednesday 24th & Thursday 25th October: Sound Circus music gig, A two day music event showcasing many bands from across the music department. Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, 12.30pm - 3.30pm

 

November 2018

Monday 12th November: York College Open Event,  5.30pm - 8.00pm, York College

Thursday 15th November: Ashfields Land & Sea Banquet, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Saturday 17th November - Sunday 18th November: Yorkshire Schools Dance Festival, Central Hall, University of York

Tuesday 20th November: Ashfields Afternoon Tea, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Wedneday 21st November: Level 3 Chefs Gourmet Game Tasting Dinner, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Saturday 24th November: York College Open Event,  10.00am - 1.00pm, York College

Saturday 24th November - Sunday 25th November: Yorkshire Schools Dance Festival, Central Hall, University of York

Tuesday 27th November: Apprenticeship Graduation Ceremony, York Grand Opera House

Tuesday 27th November - Thursday 20th December: Ashfields Christmas Lunch Menu, Booking between 12.00pm - 12.45pm, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Wednesday 28th November - Thursday 20th December: Ashfields Christmas Dinner Menu, Booking between 6.00pm - 7.30pm, finish for 9.00pm, Ashfields Restaurant, York College

Friday 30th November:  A2 Theatre Studies Devising- A2 students performing their devised pieces for examination. All day (individual times to be announced)

 

December 2018

Monday 10th December: AAT Open Event / Interviews, GF009, 5.00pm, York College

Wednesday & Thursday 12th & 13th December: Children's Theatre Show, Year 2 Musical Theatre students, Pantomime and Fairy tale stories devised by Extended Diploma in Musical Theatre. Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, York College, 10.00am , 1.00pm and 7.00pm

Monday 26th November - 20th December: Ashfields Christmas Menu, Ashfields Restaurant, York College

Wednesday 19th December: 'It's Christmas' - Music department Christmas concert, A variety of festive music performed by several ensembles and soloists from the music department. Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, 7.00pm

 

January 2019

Tuesday 8th January: AAT Open Event / Interviews, GF009, 5pm, York College

Tuesday 15th January: York College Taster Day,  all day event, York College

Thursday 17th January: York College Taster Day, all day event, York College

Monday 21st January: AAT Open Event / Interviews, GF009, 5pm, York College

Monday 21st January: Hair & Beauty Competition, York College

Monday 21st January: An Evening with Andrew Barton, nationally acclaimed hairdresser.  

Thursday 24th January: Burns Night Five Course Tasting Menu, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Tuesday 29th January: Ashfields Afternoon Tea, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Wednesday 30th January: Business Breakfast Employer Information Session, Guest Speaker: Christine Johnson talks about how PR works for businesses. Ashfield's Restaurant, York College, 7.45am - 9.30am

Wednesday 30th January: Supper and Songs, Year 2 Musical Theatre students, Solo’s, duet’s and ensemble songs from Musicals performed whilst you enjoy an evening meal. Ashfields restaurant, York College, 6.30pm

Wednesday 30th & Thursday 31st January: NOW That's What I Call the 21st Century, Year 1 Music concert, Bands from the first year Extended Diploma Music course perform popular hits. Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, 7.30pm


February 2019

Wednesday 6th February: York College Open Event,  5.30pm - 8.00pm, York College

Wednesday 13th  & Thursday 14th February:  Play On... performance, Year 1 Musical Theatre and Dance students, A variety of Shakespeare classics performed through Acting, song and dance. Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, York College, 2.00pm and 7.00pm 

Wednesday 13th February: Level 3 Chefs Seafood Inspired Tasting Dinner, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Tuesday 19th February: Ashfields Afternoon Tea, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Wednesday 20th February: York Brewery Beer Tasting Dinner, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Wednesday 20th February: 60s and 70s Revue  by Year 2 Music students, Bands from second year Extended Diploma Music perform Popular Music from the 1960s and 1970s, Bishopthorpe Social Club, 7.30pm

Wednesday 20th FebruaryBusiness Breakfast Employer Information Session, Guest Speaker: Simon Shepherd talks about Sales Skills for business. Ashfield's restaurant, York College, 7.45am - 9.30am


March 2019

Tuesday 5th March: Employment Marketplace - big opportunities with local businesses, York College, 3.00pm - 7.30pm

Wednesday 6th & Thursday 7th March: Acting Year 1 Show, Diploma in Acting students perform their major project of the year, Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, 2.00pm  & 7.00pm

Wednesday 13th March: Chorus by Level 2 Performing Arts students, Level 2 Diploma in Performing and Production Arts showcase their talents on and off stage. Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, 1.30pm and 7.00pm

Thursday 14th March: Ashfields St Patrick's Dinner, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Thursday 21st March: Level 1 Chefs Theme Night, Theme TBC, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Friday 22nd March: AS Theatre Studies Group Pieces, A level students performing their rehearsed pieces for examination. Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, all day (individual times to be announced)

Thursday 28th March: Level 1 Chefs Theme Night, Theme TBC, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Friday 29th March: Ashfields Afternoon Tea, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Friday 29th March: A2 Theatre Studies Group Pieces and Monologues, A level students performing their rehearsed pieces for examination. Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, all day (Individual times to be announced)

 

April 2019

Monday 1st April: A Musical  Soirée  performance by Music Students, An evening of chamber music and solo performances by York College music students. Bedern Hall, 7.00pm

Wednesday 3rd April: Parent/Carers Progression Event

Thursday 4th April: Level 1 Chefs Theme Night, Theme TBC, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Wednesday 10th April: Ashfields Spring 6 Course Tasting Dinner, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Wednesday 10th & Thursday 11th April: The 25th Annual Putman County Spelling Bee ,Year 2 Musical Theatre students, The final performance from second-year Musical Theatre students. Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, York College at 1.30pm and 7.00pm

Thursday 11th April: Level 1 Chefs Theme Night, Theme TBC, Ashfields Restaurant, York College

Tuesday 30th April: Ashfields Afternoon Tea, Ashfields restaurant, York College


May 2019

Wednesday 1st May: A Level Music Recitals, A level Music students' ensemble and solo performance recitals. National Centre for Early Music, 7.00pm

Wednesday 8th May: Supper and Songs, performed by Year 1 Musical Theatre students, Solo’s, duet’s and ensemble songs from Musicals performed whilst you enjoy an evening meal. Ashfields restaurant, York College at 6.30pm (early booking required)

Wednesday 8th & Thursday 9th May: Neverland, Year 2 Dance students, The final performance from the much loved children’s story Peter Pan from second year Dance students. Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, York College, 2.00pm and 7.00pm

Saturday 11th May: York College Adult Taster Day, 9.30am - 12.00pm, York College, Booking Required. To register your interest email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Wednesday 15th May: Level 3 Chefs Street Food Tasting Menu, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Wednesday 15th MayBusiness Breakfast Employer Information Session, Guest Speaker: Heather Towse talks about Mental Health. Ashfield's restaurant, York College, 7.45am - 9.30am

Tuesday 21st May:  Ashfields Afternoon Tea, Ashfields restaurant, York College

Wednesday 22nd May:  York College Fashion Show, The Principal, York (times tbc)

Wednesday 22nd & Thursday 23rd May: O Beautiful , Year 2 Acting students, The final performance from second-year Acting students. Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, 2.00pm & 7.00pm

Thursday 23rd May: LIVE music performance, Year 1 music students, venue tbc,  7.30pm

 

 

June 2019

Monday 10th June: AAT Open Event / Interviews, GF009, 5pm, York College

Wednesday 12th June: Year 2 Music Final Showcase, The final performance from the second year Extended Diploma Music students. Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, 7.30pm

Wednesday 19th June: Summer SOULstice muisc performance, An event featuring performances by the Soul band and the Jazz band. Alan Ayckbourn Theatre, 7.30pm

Tuesday 25th June: York College Open Event,  5.30pm - 8.00pm, York College

Thursday 27th June:  Progression Day at York College

Saturday 29th June: Summer Sounds in the Park, A culmination and celebration of all the performance work the music students have done during the year, raising money for the LIAM charity. Rowntree Park, 12noon

 

July 2019

Tuesday 2nd July: AAT Open Event / Interviews, GF009, 5pm, York College

Wednesday 3rd July: Creative Media Showcase, This show celebrates the end of year project work of students completing their Extended Diploma in Creative Media Production & Technologies. Incorporating production work from video to digital graphics and everything in between. Covering fiction, factual productions and client projects. Intro in Lecture Theatre followed by informal show and tell by students on the course. Lecture Theatre, York College, 6.00pm